Hey guys,

I'm a noob when it comes to Turbos etc, as I haven't had much experiance. But a little bit back I bought a GT2871R (52T), and was wanting to install it into my 180sx.

When I bought the car I was told it had a T28 In it (S15 Turbo?). Anyway, today was the the I decided to do the swap over. After about 2 hours I pulled out the turbo and behold, it looks exactly the same as the new one that I had aside.

Here's the photo of them next to eachother.

post-96993-0-36939400-1341652668_thumb.jpg

The wastegate actuator doesn't fit properly on the New one, I have to 'stretch' it a little. So i'm not sure whats going on :|

Any info guys? Do they look the same? As far as I can tell i've taken out the turbo for no damn reason.

Cheers,

-Alex

They may look the same but the 2871 has a bigger compressor wheel.

If you measure the inducers the T28 (GT2560R) will have a 46.5mm inducer and the GT2871R will have a 51.2mm inducer.

Edited by D_Stirls

Most people who buy the 2871 get it with the s15 comp housing, so they will look the same. It's what's inside that counts!!

a little stretch doesnt hurt.. call it pre load.. or if your concerned buy an adjustable one.. not too expensive..

One thing that does concern me is that the old turbo does not look like a stock T28.. the inducer is too large and there is no lip (step down) on the comp cover..

Different compressor and turbine wheels. That's the gt2871r in s15 comp cover and .64 rear housing so it's meant to kinda look the same as far as the front and rear housings go.

Thats what I mean I cant see the difference between the two.. they both look like 2871 in s15 comp covers.. the only difference is the 1-1 and the 1-2.. so one of the housings was originally a s15 BB turbo..

Edited by chris2712au

Could've been a bb, but blade pitch etc will be different, and i'm pretty sure the number of turbine blades will be different too. Show a picture of the exhaust side too, maybe

Edited by fiend.